It is currently Sat Aug 22, 2020 4:12 am

All times are UTC

Post subject: Rendering Multiple Materials
PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2012 10:45 pm 

Hey there, fellow PolyVoxaliens,

I know this topic came up a lot, but i didnt find a satisfying solution yet. Splitting chunks into different meshes, one per material, looks horribly due to the materials not blending.
Sure: There is a solution. Rendering every triangle having different materials 3 Times with alpha blending enabled. I Know that. But thats pretty expensive and i a lot of work to implement.

I'm pretty new to this topic. Im glad i got my triplanar texture mapping running smoothly and even there i got quite some help by GPU Gems. :)
So maybe my idea is pretty useless since i dont have the right understanding of 3D Textures. :<

My idea is that i store the Material IDs in a (huge) 64x64x64 ( Where 64 is the resolution of the Chunk per side ) 3D Texture. As far as i read, 3D Textures are passed to the GPU as a IdentityCube.
Problem1: Can one still get the same data one wrote to the texture by using an indexing in 1/64 steps? Is the data interpolated/mipmapped/changed in any way? ( Maybe using an offset of 1/128 to prohibit rounding errors? )

Problem2: Does the GPU mipmapping on 3D Textures? If so i would have to disable that I guess. I dont know how performant 3D Textures are anyway, coming to think of that... ^^

Problem3: Not that harsh: Determining the coordinates. I guess i could simply use a similar method as i do in our lovely triplanar texturing, thats the least problem i got there.

My main problems is using the data i pass to the GPU in my shader (GLSL).

Im not very experienced with shading thats why i want to ask here first and get some pointers if and how feasible this idea is.
Warm regards and thanks in advance,

Kuro

Offline Profile  
 Post subject: Re: Rendering Multiple Materials
PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2012 9:46 am 
Developer