It is currently Sat Aug 22, 2020 4:12 am

All times are UTC

Post subject: [Help] Step by step, from Blender to Polyvox
PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2012 1:52 pm 

HI all,

I have started to learn how to use Polyvox, and i have some questions for you guys :)

Creating a sphere is not a big deal, what about creating complex things :

There is a list of editors, what about their output files and compatibility with Polyvox ?
I see many editors, but the websites always show cubic objects. Are there some - smooth surface voxel editors - in the list ?

I am thinking about this too :
=> create a mesh with texture in Blender3d
=> make a conversion mesh to voxel from some editors (which one ?)
=> import the result to Polyvox

I am new in the voxel world but very motivated ;)
Thx for helping me.

Offline Profile  
 Post subject: Re: [Help] Step by step, from Blender to Polyvox
PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2012 3:02 pm 
Developer

There is no simple step-by-step solution to this, but I can give you some ideas about where to start. There are a few options you can look in to.

The first option is to make use of modeling software which provides voxel sculpting. This means that the software uses a voxel representation internally, and so it should be easy to get it to save that voxel representation to disk. Of course, you'll have to be familiar with the file format of the program you are using, or otherwise write an export script into your own file format.

I think that one of the most well known examples of this kind of software is 3D-Coat, though I haven't used it myself. Another (cheaper) example if is Acropora and I have used the free version of this. I was also able to read the Acropora file format though I forget the details now. Lastly, it seems there has been some interest in adding this to Blender but I don't know if that project actually went anywhere.